Springbank Distillery, Campbeltown

Springbank Distillery, Campbeltown


21 August 2018


Longrow, Campbeltown, Kintyre, Argyll and Bute
NR 71695 20484; 55.42488°N, 5.60953°W


Springbank Distillery is located in Campbeltown, once Scotland’s whisky capital with 34 distilleries having been established there. Springbank was established in 1828 on the site of an earlier illicit still. Having been in the hands of the Mitchell family for five generations, Springbank is Scotland’s oldest independent, family-owned distillery. It is also the only one to carry out all stages of production – from malting the barley to final bottling – in house on a single site.

The distillery produces three distinct single malts: Springbank, a lightly peated malt produced since 1828; Longrow, a heavily peated, smoky, Islay-style whisky produced since 1973; and Hazelburn, a subtle, non-peated variety produced since 1997.

Further Reading